battlebottle

Hi Nate! This is a question for you..

I'm a long time hobbyist programmer and there's been a few times where I've felt compelled to create a fairly elaborate custom level editor to use to help create some cool game ideas I've had. I've attempted projects like this before, but I find my code gets horribly complex before I get as far into it as I would like. I've also had a difficult time finding good advise on how to go about creating an application like this.

Basically stuff I'd want a level editor to be able to do would be:
  • Have a map of 2D objects that's pannable and zoomable, where the map can have arbitrary dimensions
  • Be able to select any object and change it's properties in properties window
  • Be able to select multiple object and change their properties together
  • Have a reliable undo system
  • Be high performance enough to be comfortably usable
  • Have a highly maintainable, readable and extendable codebase

I usually get the first two things in before my code becomes messy and hard to read and make significant changes to. At the same time I think all these features don't sound like anything special and are nothing less than what most users would expect from a good level editor and many applications, like Spine, seem to manage all these things with grace. I don't expect getting all these features in a single application to be easy, but I expect there must be much better approaches to organising code for applications like this than I know.