SomeTallGy

Hi folks, this is my first time attempting to load spine animated characters through an asset bundle. I am getting a problem in which the prefab loads and gets instantiated into my scene but the Spine/Skeleton shaders do not appear to be working (getting the pink textures)

Here is a snippet from my editor.log
WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Spine/Skeleton' - Pass '' has no vertex shader
WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Spine/Skeleton' - Pass '' has no vertex shader
WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Spine/Skeleton' - Setting to default shader.
Please also note that I do have the Spine/Skeleton shader in my "Always Included Shaders" in my project's graphic settings.

I ran through searching the forums as well as google to try to see if I am missing a step here but have come up short :sweat:

Am I missing something else?

Any thoughts or help would be appreciated!!
SomeTallGy

Pharan

But they work fine when they're not in asset bundles?
If so, it's not a shader problem.

See this post. Another user has experimented with setups and found some glaring problems on the Unity end of things, and has some workarounds.
HD/SD Assets and Asset Bundle Issues
Pharan

SomeTallGy

Hi, thank you for replying!

Yes they work fine in any other given situation. I assumed it was a shader problem since if I manually set problem shaders in the inspector to spine/skeleton, again, the textures then display correctly.

I am wrapping my head around the post you linked and will try to see if i can work out a solution from it. Thanks again for linking that.

I'll keep you posted!

-- 04 Oct 2016, 13:54 --

Okay -- After further searching, I seem to have found a hack to fix this.
var materials = bundle.LoadAllAssets<Material>();
foreach(Material m in materials)
{
var shaderName = m.shader.name;
var newShader = Shader.Find(shaderName);
if(newShader != null)
{
m.shader = newShader;
}
else
{
Debug.LogWarning("unable to refresh shader: "+shaderName+" in material "+m.name);
}
}