RareSloth

On 3.4.02

Serious problems where Spine doesn't even start up. It says its open but "not responding". I'm on OS X El Capitan with a late 2015 iMac.

Hope this can be fixed soon.

Best,
Brian

---

Edit: Re-installing seems to fix the problem temporarily.
Аватара пользователя
RareSloth
Сообщения: 43


Nate

Do you have Default Folder X or Rescue Time installed? Any display link programs like Display Link, Duet Display, or Twomon?
Support
Аватара пользователя
Nate

Nate
Сообщения: 7625

RareSloth

Nate писал(а):Do you have Default Folder X or Rescue Time installed? Any display link programs like Display Link, Duet Display, or Twomon?
Support
None of those.
Аватара пользователя
RareSloth
Сообщения: 43

Nate

OK. We will try to reproduce the problem on El Capitan, but I have a hunch it's related to some interaction with other software.
Аватара пользователя
Nate

Nate
Сообщения: 7625

RareSloth

Sketch, Xcode, sourcetree, discord

might be some good starting points
Аватара пользователя
RareSloth
Сообщения: 43

badlogic

Could you try starting it from the terminal? Simple fire up the Terminal app, then execute
/Applications/Spine/Spine.app/Contents/MacOS/Spine
Please post the output on the terminal here. Please also post the content of your log files located in <user home folder>/Library/Application Support/Spine/spine.log
Аватара пользователя
badlogic

Mario
Сообщения: 1053

RareSloth

Starts flawlessly from terminal. On sierra now... Still similar problem where it just doesn't want to start from dock.

Spine Launcher 3.5.01
Mac OS X x86_64 10.12.1
Java 1.7.0_51 Esoteric Software
64-bit Server VM
Up to date: Spine 3.4.02
Spine 3.4.02 Professional, JGLFW
Licensed to: (removed for privacy)
ATI Technologies Inc.
AMD Radeon R9 M380 OpenGL Engine
2.1 ATI-1.46.22
Started.

Log

Spine Launcher 3.5.01
Mac OS X x86_64 10.12.1
Java 1.7.0_51 Esoteric Software
64-bit Server VM
Up to date: Spine 3.4.02
Spine 3.4.02 Professional, JGLFW
Licensed to: (removed for privacy)
ATI Technologies Inc.
AMD Radeon R9 M380 OpenGL Engine
2.1 ATI-1.46.22
Started.

---

2016-11-08 13:22:26.233 Spine[40409:959327] IMKInputSession presentFunctionRowItemTextInputViewWithEndpoint:completionHandler: : NO NSRemoteViewController to client, NSError=Error Domain=NSCocoaErrorDomain Code=4099 "The connection from pid 0 was invalidated from this process." UserInfo={NSDebugDescription=The connection from pid 0 was invalidated from this process.}, com.apple.inputmethod.EmojiFunctionRowItem

Also, I can't seem to make the tree take up the right side of the screen anymore, don't know if this is intentional, but its bad for big trees.

Red flashing when trying to resize the window:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vugta850g87htek/seizure.mov?dl=0
Аватара пользователя
RareSloth
Сообщения: 43

badlogic

I've created two issues here:

Flashing on resize on macOS · #129 · EsotericSoftware/spine-editor
Editor refuses to start from macOS dock · #130 · EsotericSoftware/spine-editor

I can not reproduce the "can't start from dock" issue on my end, on either El Capitan or Sierra. The logs you provided look OK to me. I did however notice that starting Spine (and other apps like Slack, Chrome, etc.) on Sierra takes longer to show the initial UI.

For the resize flash, we'll have to talk to the GLFW guys who provide the OS bindings for window and OpenGL context management.

Could you elaborate on the hierarchy view not being resizable? I don't see a reason for that not working http://sht.tl/WXvVNV
Аватара пользователя
badlogic

Mario
Сообщения: 1053

RareSloth

Here's a video of Spine not starting from dock, and ending up "not responding". I doubt I'm the only one experiencing this issue.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/w1d6040un8dgcxh/not_starting.mov?dl=0

What I meant is that I want the tree to be able to take up the right side of the screen, and not have the dopesheet in the way. Maybe this is no longer possible, but here I try to do it:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kpfuv8wlj63rdwh/tree_is_bad.mov?dl=0

---

Are you guys testing with dual monitor setups?
Аватара пользователя
RareSloth
Сообщения: 43

badlogic

I work on a dual monitor setup on macOS Sierra 25% of my time. I'm using spotlight to fire up Spine, and have essentially banished the dock from my workflows. However, I tried reproducing the dock issues, but couldn't so far. Did you install Spine in /Applications or somewhere else?

I get the issue with the tree view now. I assume you want it to fill up the entire right side like at 0:24 in the video. Here's the funky part, i got exactly that setup O_o http://sht.tl/lMciAY. I tried minimizing/closing in various permutations, but it always ended up like in the image above.

I have a feeling you are the unluckiest Spine user :( I keep investigating the dock issue. I got a second Mac machine I can test on later this week.
Аватара пользователя
badlogic

Mario
Сообщения: 1053

Nate

Regarding the tree, when you move the tree next to the dopesheet, it splits the dopesheet. If you want the tree to be the full height, you just need to move the dopesheet, not the tree. This is the same way splitting panes are moved around in most programs.
Аватара пользователя
Nate

Nate
Сообщения: 7625

RareSloth

It is installed in Applications.

Unlucky me!
Аватара пользователя
RareSloth
Сообщения: 43

badlogic

Could you give the latest beta 3.5.13 a try? The flashing should be gone.
Аватара пользователя
badlogic

Mario
Сообщения: 1053

RareSloth

Nice "meows" lol. The window doesn't flicker red anymore but the top bar does.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/i0moctaz1371w1r/meow.mov?dl=0

I still have problems launching, it finally opens after 2-3 tries of (not responding)
Аватара пользователя
RareSloth
Сообщения: 43

Nate

Ha, I'll remove those right meow!

Unfortunately we probably can't improve the flashing much, not until we revamp our windowing. We have plans for that, but lots of things need to come first.

As for not launching, it's bizarre that we don't see the same issue having tested Spine on many Macs. This makes it near impossible to fix, as it could be almost anything during initialization. Since it doesn't seem to happen on a fresh OS X, I expect there is some OS X configuration or other software interacting with Spine. I'm not sure what we can do to reveal more details about the problem. There shouldn't be anything different about launching from the dock, though that is our best clue.
Аватара пользователя
Nate

Nate
Сообщения: 7625

badlogic

One last ditch effort to resolve the dock problem: Could you open the "Console" App, select "system.log" on the left, then click the "Clear" button at the top of the window, then launch Spine. Wait until it doesn't launch and freezes, and post the output in the Console app here please.
Аватара пользователя
badlogic

Mario
Сообщения: 1053

landoncope

I've always had problems with Spine loading on OSX. For me, I've found the problem is related to TotalSpaces 2, a utility app. If I'm having loading problems, I've found that if I keep the window focus on a Finder window as Spine is starting, it will more-often load successfully.

It's very annoying, but something I have to live with.
landoncope
Сообщения: 1

RareSloth

Still happening. Here's what it says in the console:

Jul 4 13:25:26 --- last message repeated 14 times ---
Jul 4 13:25:26 Brians-iMac com.apple.usbmuxd[101]: notice Log from 9-887a6af4cf91a65eaccc31932ca01d1a11f54817@0x14100000: handleConnectResult new session to port 55335 failed: 61
Аватара пользователя
RareSloth
Сообщения: 43

badlogic

Man, I really don't know how to resolve this. I've tried to reproduce this in various ways, but nothing comes even close to the problems you are having. If you have a second Mac somewhere, could you try it on that, then tell me the difference in software installed?
Аватара пользователя
badlogic

Mario
Сообщения: 1053

RareSloth

badlogic писал(а):Man, I really don't know how to resolve this. I've tried to reproduce this in various ways, but nothing comes even close to the problems you are having. If you have a second Mac somewhere, could you try it on that, then tell me the difference in software installed?
I booted it up on my late 2011 Macbook pro. Works fine.

So what's going on with the 2015 iMac? With a fresh reinstall it shows the esoteric loading screen, and then nothing, no feedback. After a minute of waiting I go to force quit it says Spine is not responding. Checked spine.log and system.log and nothing is printed. When spine goes to "not responding" it isn't printing any logs - without printing logs here its difficult to help you guys fix the problem.

Using terminal I can get spine to launch reliably but its the only way... :bang:

---

Also, this might not be related, but I'm also seeing different versions on my iMac and my Macbook. I'm not seeing 3.6.37 on the iMac.

iMac:
Аватара пользователя
RareSloth
Сообщения: 43

badlogic

You did a full reinstall of the iMac? In that case, Spine should have updated to 3.6.37 upon first run on the fresh macOS install, and not show you previously installed versions.

Could you delete /Users/<your-username>/Library/Application Support/Spine and see if that fixes the issue?
Аватара пользователя
badlogic

Mario
Сообщения: 1053

Nate

I don't think reinstalling on OS X will get rid of the previously installed versions, since they are stored in the user folder. The select box in the settings dialog shows the previously downloaded versions. You can click Other and type a specific version if it doesn't appear in your select box.
Аватара пользователя
Nate

Nate
Сообщения: 7625


Вернуться в Bugs